Treasures from home: Keith’s Fishing Pole Support Boards

It has been a while, since I posted on this blog. 

Back in February of 2016, I posted about my dad, Keith’s patent that he obtained. It was about his creation of a Fishing Pole Support. Time marches on and in the last several months there has been a change in my family. I have lost a sibling. My parents bought the house I grew up in back in 1942. It was handed down to this sibling. In June, we lost him just short of his 80th birthday. 

In cleaning out the house, I inherited the Fishing Pole Support boards that my father had put on the ceiling of the basement near his work bench that were his patent designs.

That post was titled: 1952 – Keith the Inventor gets a patent in 1956, published February 18, 2016 at, oh my, 4:10 am on this blog. 

Here is one of the pages of that Patent:

PatentKeith

Keith’s patent page 1.

Here they are the presentation boards, on the ceiling of the basement in my childhood home.

DadsFishPoleSpt

Fishing Pole Support boards in 2009

When I first brought the boards home, they were pretty filthy. They had been up on the basement ceiling for about 66 years – 1956 to 2022.

Please take a close look and see what he has inscribed on the holders:

Old Lazy Bones Yee Pole Rest.” 

OldLazyBonesYeePoleRest - Copy

A Closer look to the words on the Holder

That was my dad, a very corny guy! I think it was from his growing up in Vaudeville days. Happily, I have some of his silliness. 

There were two mounting boards in which he mounted his pieces on both sides. One board featured the holder piece and the other board the pressure plates. These boards are thick and clunky.

OldLazyBonesYeePoleRest

Board 1 – Old Lazy Bones Yee Pole Rest

SideTwo of theHolder

Side Two of Board 1 – More Holder styles – Masking tape for privacy

PressurePads

Board 2- Pressure Pads

2ndSidePressurePads

2nd Side – Board 2 – More Pressure Pads

Here is a photo showing what the various designs might have looked like and how there were mounted on the boat.

BoatwHolders

A selection of Fishing Pole Rests…

It is amazing that my dad, created this Fishing Pole Rest and obtained a patent. Occasionally, I stumble on other ancestors that have also invented items. I am trying to figure out a way to remount them so I can display this better in my very small home. We will see!

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Keith B. MacDonald, King County, Seattle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Treasures from home: Keith’s Fishing Pole Support Boards

  1. Darlene Kresse says:

    Wow, what an invention.

    Like

  2. Byrna Klavano says:

    How fascinating that your Dad had a patent! I don’t fish, so can’t figure out what the pressure pads are for. At first I thought that the holders were to store the rods in the basement. I was really perplexed with the arrangements on the boards….nice to see the last photo of the holders on the boat!
    I think you should mount some of the holders on your kitchen walls to hold towels and hotpads. 🙂

    Like

    • BJ MacDonald says:

      I was thinking of putting them in a line around the top of my living room wall, like they were marching along…You lay your fishing pole into the curve shaped rest and then stretch out your feet and lean back and wait for the fish to bite!

      Like

Leave a comment