New York Wanderings: To Alexandria Bay

The next leg of my journey was an indulgence.  I had learned of Boldt Castle on my last trip to Ontario in 2012 when I drove the Thousand Island Parkway and became charmed by the St. Lawrence River. 

http://www.visit1000islands.com/

I love castles! So my next stop was Alexandria Bay, New York.

I headed out from Johnstown in the FOG.  I got some money at the ATM at the Key Bank and was just finishing up and wouldn’t you know it someone pulls in behind me at 7:15 am?

Anyway, I turned right on Briggs and left on Perry and found the entrance to the Johnstown Cemetery.  I drove around the cemetery and it was a large so do some research about where stones are before trying to find them.  There were two men with their dogs and chatting.  As you can see it was not a day for even taking descent cemetery photos. I am sure there is a lot of history in this cemetery.  The photos are in the morning about 7:20 am.

http://fulton.nygenweb.net/cemeteries/JohnsCem.html

Johnstown Cemetery

DSC09730

DSC09731

DSC09732

Getting a descent photo of the Mohawk River was not going to happen because of the thick FOG! So I headed out on Hwy 67 west.  I went through towns like Keck’s Center, Eppie Corners and St. Johnsville. This took me onto Hwy 5 again and through Little Falls.

It then took me to Herkimer. Yup, it did!  It is a county and a town:  http://herkimercounty.org/content and the town can be studied at this link: http://www.townofherkimer.org/  I frequent town and county sites when preparing for a research trip, they can be useful but difficult to find things on.

I like Herkimer! They had this great diner where I stopped for breakfast or rather second breakfast.  What a Kick!  You do have to pay the meter so be careful and really twist the knob to get it to take your quarter in the parking lot area out front.

Crazy Otto's Empire Diner

Crazy Otto’s Empire Diner

The Empire Diner

The Empire Diner

The Empire Diner

The Empire Diner what a kick!

I was not expecting my breakfast to be so…much!  I ate most of it…!

Three Pancakes & More

Three Pancakes & More, yeah I know cholesterol city…

I was still on Hwy 5.  In Deerfield Heights I needed to get onto Hwy 49 and that was a little tricky. The big problem was in Rome, New York.  There was a lot of construction and there is this strange U that takes you south on 49 and 365 and then back into Rome where you have to get off and drive the city to get back on 49/46 to go west.  I found Gifford Road much farther on then I expected and turned left onto 49.  I was doing just fine.

Okay, I could have taken I-90 the toll road to where I need to connect with I-81 but this was more fun.  To see the different towns along the way and just realize that New York State has a great deal of rural areas and not just big cities.  Some of these towns are lovely to see like Saratoga Springs and Warrensburg.

I have not done any genealogy in the great state of New York.  I have tried for a marriage of Solomon Goss and Olive Scott Goss in this state as suggested by a Pennsylvania Researcher who told me that they sometimes went up to New York. I am talking 1776.  I was not successful but then it was not a deep search.  I have heard that New York State genealogy is tough going.  Levi Goss he married Sophia Rummersfield in a New York county before they headed to Chatham, Kent Co., Ontario where he had a tavern on the Thames.  I wrote about all this in my blog:  Solomon Goss of Fearing Twp., in Ohio.  Levi is a son and my 4th great grand parent grand-uncle.  http://sgossfamily.wordpress.com/

Here are a few links but I am not an expert on this state so this is just be dabbling:

They have the New York State Archives in Albany, NY:

http://www.archives.nysed.gov/a/research/res_topics_genealogy.shtml

The New York GenWeb page

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nygenweb/

The New York Genealogical and Biographical Society

http://newyorkfamilyhistory.org/

The New York State Historical Association

http://www.nysha.org/

New York was one of the 13 Colonies so you do have to learn about Colonial history:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thirteen_Colonies

This book New York in the Revolution as a Colony and State is available on Internet Archive, hmmmm???

https://archive.org/details/newyorkrevolution01statrich

Now I could have stopped at Fort Stanwix and did consider it and there were other Forts or historical places I could have explored.  I can get diverted so I was being very strong this trip.  http://www.iloveny.com/things-to-do/history/#.VDKRiPldVqI  Let’s see they list 715 pages of historical places you could visit…So many things to do so little time!

This Hwy 49 would take me along Lake Oneida but it was still FOGGY. It was still that way in Jewell but I was seeing a little of the Lake.  Cleveland was better.  It must have been Bernhard Bay where I was able to turn off and take some photos or maybe a little further on…

Lake Oneida

Lake Oneida with a hint of FOG

DSC09740

Lake Oneida

Soon I was in West Monroe and I pulled off at the Good Golly’s for a little break before heading north on I-81.  I was pretty full from breakfast so I just had an Ice Tea and a strawberry shortcake with whipping cream. Giggle…!

Getting on I-81 was easy and I was on my way north to Alexandria Bay.  The road signs read Pulaski, Sandy Creek, Lacona, Ellisburg, Adams and Watertown. It was a 4 lane highway so I didn’t have too much trouble with traffic or tailgating.  Traffic was good except when you got near the towns of course and I was able to pass slower vehicles easily.  No FOG, Yippee!

Once past Watertown the road was pretty wide open with little traffic and it was kinda tedious because I was getting excited.  The exits are very far apart and the Garamond GPS kept telling me about rest stops and I wanted real exits.  The sign for the Canadian border said 20 miles and I was not yet to the turn off for Alexandria Bay.  Sigh, I could have come down from Kingston and visited Boldt Castle crossing the border and going back to Ontario.  I knew this but was not sure about how easy it would be to cross the border?

Exit 50N finally came up and it was just about 4.5 miles to Alexandria Bay from there and I just went right on in to the town following the signs.  It was about 12:45 pm and I wanted to get my ticket for the boat shuttle to Boldt Castle.  I paid my $8.50 and would pay for admittance to the castle grounds at the landing on Heart Island. The lady said that the boat shuttle would be back in about 10 minutes.  I was good.

Uncle Sam ticket booth

Uncle Sam ticket booth for boat shuttle to Boldt Castle

 http://www.usboattours.com/1000islands/

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in New York, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New York Wanderings: To Alexandria Bay

  1. Byrna Klavano says:

    I thought the photos of the cemetery had added ambience with the fog. Quaint diner with good looking food. Byrna

    Like

    • bonmac says:

      One of the good things about the country roads or lesser highways is finding treasures like that diner. I wish hubby had been with me he would have liked that a lot. Yeah that was Johnstown Cemetery and it was pretty foggy that morning and difficult to drive because I could not see the road sometimes it was so thick. I think I need to rethink traveling in the Fall? I missed some picture taking because of the weather.

      Like

Leave a Reply

