New York Wanderings: Getting To Boldt Castle

It was now about 1 pm and I had my boat shuttle ticket and was ready.  I had parked my car in a gravel parking area behind the main part of the town. There are signs for parking.  I had loaded myself up with cameras so I could just have fun.  The ticket booth for the shuttle boat to the castle was at the far end of James Street.  Notice anything?  NO FOG!

The Marina and Boats

The Marina and Boats

Docked Boats

Docked Boats

Well I least I knew where my lodging was going to be that evening.  Bonnie Castle was right across the bay.  This whole trip to see Boldt Castle was just a bit of whimsy on my part.  I had booked a riverside view room so it was not cheap but it was great!  Oh, they take your money when you reserve so be aware of that fact!

Bonnie Castle across the bay

Bonnie Castle across the bay

The shuttle boat on the right and some another tourist boat on the left.  You can do other tours, I just wanted to shuttle directly to Heart Island and back.  I was seated in the front of the shuttle boat on the right so I had a great view.  The bigger boat was very quick, it actually came back twice and moored for just a few minutes?

Shuttle Boat & Tourist Boat

Shuttle Boat to the right & Tourist Boat on the left

Heart Island is right across the St. Lawrence from Alexandria Bay.  If you lean a little over the wharf and around the building you could see it in the distance.

Heart Island & Boldt Castle

Heart Island & Boldt Castle

Heart Island Coming Up

Heart Island Coming Up – I believe this is the Powerhouse!

The shuttle boat takes you around the island going to the east.  On the north side of the island are the docks and Welcome Center.  It departs going to the west around the island.  This means you get a whole tour of the island on the water by the time your done.  Very lovely.

Tour boat is moored at the island.

Tour boat is moored at the island.

Boldt Castle rises above

Boldt Castle rises above

The welcome area

The Welcome area

 The Shuttle Boat

The Shuttle Boat

The Uncle Sam’s shuttle boat took about 10 minutes to cross from Alexandria Bay.  You spend more time waiting to get on it.  Here is the Entrance where you pay for a tour of the castle $8.50 and get hand stamped and they also have restrooms, a concession stand and a gift shop…of course!  I am a senior so I may be getting a discount.

The Entrance

The Entrance

Now for a tour of the castle and would you believe, you can take pictures!  http://www.boldtcastle.com/visitorinfo/

Note:  I have followed the St. Lawrence from Kingston to Montreal on the Canadian side 2012 and 2014.  I have been over the St. Lawrence (Champlain Bridge Montreal) and now on the St. Lawrence at Alexandria Bay in a boat. HA!  I have followed the Ottawa River on both sides in Pontiac and Renfrew County in 2012.  I have crossed over it at Pont Tachereau on my way to Montreal.  I followed the Ottawa River from Hawkesbury, Ontario to Ottawa.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in New York, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New York Wanderings: Getting To Boldt Castle

  1. Byrna Klavano says:

    Looks like a beautiful day and trip. You now know the waterways as well as the highways! Byrna

    Like

    • bonmac says:

      As I headed west the FOG started to ease up and by the time I was to I-81 it was all cleared off. So I had fair weather to Alexandria Bay and an easy road.

      Like

Leave a Reply

