New York Wanderings: The Adirondacks & Warrensburg

I was up early and out the door, breakfast at the Econo Lodge was not very good.  So I ate some in the room.  I had brought the remaining steak back with me and put it into the refrigerator, so I warmed that in the microwave and it was good.

My goal today was Johnstown, New York and the Mohawk Valley.  Yup, I am on the trail of Loyalists again…

My route was I-87 south through the Adirondack Park.  Unfortunately it was very foggy and thick with the stuff.  So I was not going to get much in photographs.  As I entered the park on the highway I did get some vistas of the Adirondacks to both sides of me and it was very beautiful including the fog in the valleys and sunlight on the hills.  The colors of fall were slowly showing themselves but it was not at its peak just yet…!

Tourist information can be found here http://visitadirondacks.com/ and this link describes the height of the mountains in this group: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adirondack_Mountains  My sister-in-law will not be impressed after having climbed Mt. Rainier, giggle!

My version of the Adirondacs

My version of the Adirondacks

A weathervane on the restop building

A weathervane on the rest stop building

To my surprise many of the rest stops were closed except the one with the bear weathervane.

I am a bit of a Rachel Ray fan and so I decided to stop in Warrensburg to visit Oscar’s Smokehouse which she featured on her TV show.  Oscar’s Smokehouse is on the north end of the town of Warrensburg.  Here is their website:  http://www.oscarsadksmokehouse.com/

Oscar's Sign

Oscar’s Sign

Oscar's Smoke House

Oscar’s Smoke House

Rachel's visit

Rachel’s visit is proudly displaced on their wall!

The building you see is the newer one built in 2005 after the fire, I believe.  It is very nice inside with a self-service area and the main meat counter. I purchased some self-service items: Cheddar Bacon Cheese, and Smoked Cervelet.  The cheese is very mild and I thought with bacon it might be too salty but it is very nice.  The sausage is also very nice and I just ate a big chunk! Slurp….

Self Serivce & Meat Counter

Self Serivce & Meat Counter

DSC09697

They didn’t have tables at Oscar’s so I headed back to town and found a nice restaurant down the street to have my 2nd breakfast.  It was crowded and there was only one waitress but she was quick.  Notice the tin ceiling in this place.  I have more fun with small town cafe’s.

New Way Lunc

New Way Lunch

 

New Lunch Sign and a shop across the street

New Way Lunch Sign and a shop across the street

This cafe was right next door to the historical society. http://www.whs12885.org/museum.html

Warrensburg's historical Society

Warrensburg’s historical Society and mural

DSC09705

Next was Saratoga Springs and then heading west on Hwy 29 to Johnstown.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in New York, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

