Quebec Wanderings: Historic City Center – Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal)

Old Montreal the historic center of the city is not far from my hotel and I could walk to the area. The weather had improved yet it was a little cool and windy.  I had found a website that gave presented a historic walking tour of the area so armed with my maps I headed out to Rene Levesque Street and then turned to head to the Ave L’Hotel de Ville.  As I was walking along I discovered that there were several other hotels not to far down the street.  I spotted a Days Inn, a Holiday Inn Express not to far from where I was on St. Denis.  I think it was the way they looked that intrigued me, because normally these hotels are more spread out.

Other hotels

Other hotels Days Inn, Holiday Inn….

DSC09625

Holiday Inn Express on the left and another hotel on the right.

I walked along L’Hotel de Ville to a park and then a very large an old building with big wide stairs to climb and it opened out onto the Jacque Cartier Square.   I had lunch at the Restaurant des Gouverneurs  CLOSED off to the right of the square.  It was a nice ravioli.

Here is a brochure in PDF of a walking tour of Old Montreal, it is now under grand tour:  http://www.vieux.montreal.qc.ca/eng/accueila.htm

http://www.vieux.montreal.qc.ca/mus_attr/pdf/attr_09a.pdf

So you could plan out a really nice tour of the area. I ended up wandering around. http://www.vieux.montreal.qc.ca/tour/eng/0cartea.htm

Jacques Cartier Square

Jacques Cartier Square, he is on the top of the tall monument!

Jacques Cartier and more

Jacques Cartier and more

More of the square

More of the square

Statues of course

Statues of course

Old Montreal…enjoy!  To get inside some of the shops you had to climb up very steep stairs.  You know me and stairs, HA!

DSC09635

DSC09634

DSC09636

DSC09637

DSC09638

DSC09641

The Musee Pointe-a-Calliere

The Musee Pointe-a-Calliere

http://www.pacmusee.qc.ca/en/home

Heading back to my hotel…

The church rang its bell

The church rang its bell..bong…

Notre Dame

Notre Dame – behind this was the parish office…hmmm…what treasures would be there!

DSC09655

Wonderful cakes and a Christmas Shoppe!

DSC09651

 

 

DSC09652

DSC09653

Below:  A wine shop where I bought a very nice Quebec Wine “Frontenac” 2012 by Vignoble de l’ Orpailleur:  http://orpailleur.ca/en/

Wine Shop in this hotel

Wine Shop in this hotel

Montreal's Palais de Justice

Montreal a Palais de Justice, seems I saw several?

Chinatown was about 1 block long:

DSC09663

DSC09667

DSC09669

There is so much more to explore in Old Montreal, it could take a good week! Not to mention all the history in this area.  I wanted to know where the immigrants came in to the harbour but apparently they have replaced the area with a marina.  This link walks you through the history of Old Montreal:   http://www.vieux.montreal.qc.ca/tour/etape1/eng/1fena.htm

Here is a slide show for you to enjoy, just click on the first photo and it will open.  The close button may be in your left corner find the X:

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Montreal, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quebec Wanderings: Historic City Center – Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal)

  1. Byrna Klavano says:

    What fun to just wander and enjoy the sights! Byrna

    Like

    • bonmac says:

      Yes, I found it pretty easy to get around even on the very narrow walkways. I did not go through the museum however. I think I needed to cross the road and get over to the port side to explore. I didn’t realize the crepe restaurant was there or I would have lunch there. Traveling in the fall is great but it was getting cooler and rain was always there so I think I should do the spring instead. It is a very big city, old and crowded. The area near my hotel was filled with students because of the university taking over most of the blocks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

