Quebec Wanderings: Lancaster to Pointe-Claire, Quebec…

There is a gas station, store and Denny’s on the north side of 401 at Lancaster, Ontario. One stop shopping.  This time they didn’t have any good Canadian T-shirts for me to buy, grrrr….  I did ask for help in checking the oil in my rental car and they had an attendant.  It was good.

The Truck Stop in Lancaster

The Truck Stop in Lancaster

On my last trip I had planned to go into Montreal but I was too tired and decided instead to concentrate on Glengarry and visit as many of the churches and cemeteries as I could.  So I cancelled my reservations in Quebec and found the Monte Carlo Motel on Hwy 2 in Cornwall and luckily they had a room.  So I stayed there for one night and was able to tour around the Glengarry area before I headed back to Ottawa to return the car and fly home.

I had dinner one of the evenings at the Blue Anchor Bar and Grill and this big ship came chugging by.  They don’t mess around for it was gone in about 20 minutes.

Big Tanker on the St. Lawrence

Big Tanker on the St. Lawrence

View from the Blue Anchor Bar & Grill

View from the Blue Anchor Bar & Grill

This time I was determined to make it to Quebec and Montreal.  So on Sunday, September 21 I headed to Pointe-Claire, Quebec.  After breakfast at the Denny’s I filled up the tank with gas and I headed east on Hwy 2 and immediately ran into a barricade.  I then had to find the detour which took me to the south side of 401 and the Service Road.  I followed that out and was back on Hwy 2 soon.  It was not great traveling weather as you can see from the photo below.

Morning on the St. Lawrence

Morning on the St. Lawrence at the Monte Carlo

I entered Quebec and the sign changed from Hwy 2 to Hwy 338.  I passed through several towns Les Coteaux and Coteau-du-Lac.  The name of the road changed to Chemin du Canal. It is called the Soulange Canal which flows along this area. It is very straight and it was raining as I drove by.

I was soon in Pointe-des-Cascades and I wandered around that little town for a while.  People were out walking their dogs or should I say…le chien.  I saw this cat, la chat, running across this park and it looked like it was pursuing the man and his dog.  Cats do like to go for walks too, my Puffer often followed me.

The road curves north at Pointe-des-Cascades and I found a little side road that took me where I could take pictures of the Ottawa River (Outaouais).  This is where the Ottawa meets the St. Lawrence. There were many lovely homes along this road.  It was very dark, dreary and rainy.

The Ottawa River off of Hwy 338

The Ottawa River off of Hwy 338 – Quebec

Hwy 338 took me up to Hwy 20 and I crossed over the Outaouais River to Perrot Island. Sainte-Anne de Bellevue came up very quick and I turned off to follow the Chemin Lakeshore road.

What a kick! This was a small two lane road that stopped about every 2 blocks (Arret) with a stop sign.  There were houses and some where like little castles, small green parks and views of the St. Lawrence or Lac St. Louis, small towns areas like Baie d’Urte. I kept following this road till it brought me to Beaconsfield.  The road from there became the Beaconsfield Blvd.  I stopped to get some supplies and found this wonderful cream for my coffee.  It was labeled in French so I had to figure out if it was whipping cream by the little drawings on it and I picked the other offer.

A glimpse of the St. Lawrence River

A glimpse of the St. Lawrence River

Unfortunately, I ran into another barricade and had to do a detour which took me around restaurants like the Ye Old Orchard that I had wanted to visit.  The detour finally brought me back to Blvd. St. Jean.  This is where I needed to turn north and head for the Comfort Inn.  Boy was I was really early.  The clock said 11:30 am much earlier than I had anticipated I would get there but then the weather was so bad I didn’t stop to take more photos.

I continued up Blvd. St. Jean and it changed from two lanes to four lanes and things got real busy.  I turned on Holiday St. into the Comfort Inn parking lot just below Hwy 40 near Blvd. Hymus.  The room was ready so I settled in and did the laundry and worked on my blog posts and rested. The next day would be a big day at the Quebec Family History Society and then I would drive into Montreal.

Remember to breath kiddo…yeah I was a little intimidated.  Here is the view from my hotel window.  I had fun watching the traffic and the day end and then checking the street in the wee hours to see it empty.

The area around the Comfort Inn in Pointe-Claire, Quebec

The area around the Comfort Inn in Pointe-Claire, Quebec

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lancaster, Montreal, Pointe-Claire Quebec, Quebec, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quebec Wanderings: Lancaster to Pointe-Claire, Quebec…

  1. Barbara says:

    Bonnie, I’m a little behind in reading your posts, so I’ll begin with your most recent. Sorry about all your detours, and I wonder how you remember them all. One thing that caught my eye, I’ve been to Cornwall several times, most recently 3 years ago as a friend and I returned to MA from Ottawa. Stay safe.

    Like

    • bonmac says:

      Barbara: Well I am home now so I am behind as well in my posts. I am catching up about two a day. I do an itinerary and I also journal my trip at the end of the day because I have learned that I forget and within six months a year, I won’t remember the details. The photos help as long as I get them organized each day. I remember the barracades on the roads because they usually cause pain and it takes time to find my way and get going back on track. HA! The joys of traveling in a car and navigating yourself. In Canada I can’t use GPS on my phone costs to much but in the USA I can so I can get myself out of pickles easier. I did have Garamond but they did not give me instructions and I didn’t have time to go online to learn how to use it. Since I prefer country roads to freeways it can be tricky to get it to respond to your interests. Time for dinner. Bonnie

      Like

Leave a Reply

