Ontario Wanderings: Revisiting Kingston in Ontario

After I left St. Catharines, I headed west to Hamilton and visited that city briefly stopping at the Hamilton Cemetery.  The first part of this trip was emphasizing my mother’s side of the family and her Boardman, Brown and Ward lines. You can follow my adventures on the Boardmans and Brown blog where I headed west all the way to Michigan in Lapeer County where George and Esther Brown settled and are buried.   After visiting Lapeer I headed back to Ontario heading to Toronto where I visited the Archives of Ontario and the North York Library where the Ontario Genealogical Society has their holdings.  Although I was working on the Browns, Wards and Boardmans these two last archives can be of help to me on the McDonald side.  So visiting them was a good thing.  I continued with the Brown family by visiting Peterborough, and then revisiting Hastings County where I had been on my trip in 2012.

In 2012 when I came to Kingston for the Ontario Genealogical Society Conference, I had contacted Elaine Brown and we had lunch.  We had been emailing on occasion over the years about the MacDonalds and Burns connection and this was my first time meeting Elaine face-to-face.

The Wharf in Kingston

The Wharf in Kingston

This time I would be in Kingston for only a short time and I invited Elaine to dine with me at the Keg Restaurant.  I had been working on the Brown family at the Anglican Diocese of Ontario on Johnson Street.  It had been a good day of research.

The marina in Kingston

The marina in Kingston

Elaine compiled the book on the burials and deaths of the St. Alphonsus Church in Chapeau, Pontiac Co., Quebec. I have referenced her book several times on this blog.  Elaine is a Burns and her family history has been her passion.

http://www.personainternet.com/etbrown/

Here is the link to her book.

http://www.personainternet.com/etbrown/alphonse.htm

Elaine and her hubby visited me in Seattle in July of this year, they had been on an epic road trip.  I traveled with them to Port Angeles on the Olympic Peninsula and I took them up the Space Needle.  We had excellent weather…

We had arranged to meet at the Keg about 6 pm and I was there a little early just relaxing and enjoying the ambiance.  It was good to see her happy face and share some more.

View from my hotel window

View from my hotel window

Back at my room I watched the harbour of Kingston grow quiet as the night came to the area.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Kingston, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

