Ontario Wanderings: Loyalists and the Niagara Region Part II

Once I had completed my visit to the statue of John Butler the next goal was to find the graveyard which was not too far.

I tried Aberdeen Lane N. but it was chained off and I had to retrace my steps.  I went out on Mississauga Street to John Street W. and turned onto Butler Street.  I was stopped by a barricade.  So I again retraced by steps and parked in this Bar and Grill parking lot on Butler Street and Mississauga St.

I got out and walked to the barricade and kept going and saw that there had been a wash out.  It probably was best to keep cars out till they assessed the damage.   I spotted the heritage sign and  graves in the distance.

Butler Cemetery in distance

Butler Cemetery in distance

Heritage sign:

Heritage Sign for John Butler

Heritage Sign for John Butler

The cemetery area:

Butler Cemetery Niagara-on-the-lake

Butler Burying Ground Cemetery Niagara-on-the-lake

War of 1812 Monument

War of 1812 Monument

The graves in two rows.

The graves in two rows.

I have more pictures and will post them when I return to my home.  It will take a bit of figuring them out.

I am very concerned that this cemetery is going to all be lost.  I know that the heritage organizations are keeping and eye on it that exist in the area but that can change.

Find A Grave has some information about this burial ground.  There are only about 8 to 9 tombstones that I could see and mostly difficult to read.  Again, I will post more when I return home.

 http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2324330&CScn=Butler+&CScntry=10&

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Butler Burying Ground and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

