Ontario Wanderings: Loyalists and the Niagara Area, Part I.

My dad’s ancestry goes back into Pennsylvania and into New England.  The Goss family was in the Wyoming Valley of Pennsylvania at the time of the Revolution.  I have been trying to find more proof that Solomon Goss my 4th great-grandfather was held prisoner than using the history books of the area which are not sourced.

As a result I have been a little determined to learn more about a man by the name of John Butler.  He was known in the Wyoming Valley as Captain but the Canadians have him listed as Lt. Colonel.  I will refer to him as Captain John Butler.

I refer you to my post dated June 12, 2012 “Revolution: Canada and the New United States:” I had some links in that post that are rather interesting.

http://sgossfamily.wordpress.com/2012/06/12/revolution-canada-and-the-new-united-states/

After enjoying the sights of the Niagara Falls area I headed north to Niagara on-the-Lake where Capt. Butler lived and died.  I traveled up Hwy 100 to Hwy 55 and turned right to Niagara-on-the-Lake.  I didn’t go into the town instead I turned left onto Balmoral Lane.  Be careful, they like to name the streets on one side of the road one name and on the other another name.  It was Balmoral and Anderson where I needed to turn.  It was a residential area and there was construction going on so I was momentarily confused.  I stumbled upon the statue which is located on the land where his house was situated until it was burned down in the War of 1812.  He had long since passed on before that event.  http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio.php?id_nbr=1785

Lt. Colonel John Butler, Niagara on the Lake

Lt. Colonel John Butler, Niagara on the Lake

The other side of the statue.

The other side of the statue.

John Butler Plaque

John Butler Plaque

Find the Homestead

Find the Homestead

The Homestead

The Homestead

Contributors

Contributors

Lt. Colonel Butler was given a commission to organize a militia and he created Butler’s Rangers.  I am interested in this not just from the Goss family history side but because there were McDonalds enlisted in his Rangers. http://www.butlersrangers.ca/history.html   http://www.iaw.on.ca/~awoolley/brang/brhist.html

A Captain John McDonell was head of one of the units.  These two men went on to make contributions to the establishment of Canada.

If you are studying or trying to find a Loyalist ancestor you will have no choice but to learn about Lt. Colonel John Butler, he was very involved in the establishment of the Niagara area and an Indian agent.  He was very devoted to his country, Great Britain.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Loyalists, The American Revolution, Trip to Ontario & Canada 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

