The St. Lawrence River and the 1000 Island Parkway!

When I was in high school, awhile back, I had a project that I was to do for history class.  I choose to do my project on the Great Lakes.  I used the flour and water to make a relief map on a piece of wood which did require much.  I then traced a pattern of the lakes and painted the whole map.  This relief map was placed in the lobby case for display at my high school for several weeks.  That was unfortunately the last I saw of it.  I didn’t think to take a picture.  Sigh!

Since then I have viewed Lake Superior at Chicago and from the south side of the lake when visiting my husband’s cousin’s home.   I now add Lake Ontario to the list.  I believe I have flow over the lakes many times on the way to Washington D.C.

The Great Lakes http://www.yellowmaps.com/map/great-lakes-basin-regional-map-655.htm

Kingston is where Lake Ontario meets the St. Lawrence River.  It is the furthest east of the lakes.

The St. Lawrence River 1000 Island Parkway

My goodness, trying to find a detailed map online of the area I was traveling has taken a good five minutes.  This should help.  It is from the Ontario Yours to Discover website.

The St. Lawrence River and its many facets

I had a very nice brochure of the 1000 Islands which was very fat.  After traveling this parkway I have come to realize that you need to drive the Canadian side and also the New York side to really enjoy it all.   They featured in Sackets Harbor, NY the Old McDonald’s Farm.  I used to be teased with the song.  Boldt Castle is near Alexandria Bay, NY so I did not see it as I drove east for it was hidden behind the bigger islands in the St. Lawrence.  Boy do I love a castle.  Ever since my hubby and I visited Biltmore in Ashville, NC, I have been intrigued.

One of many islands in the St. Lawrence

It was amazing.  I spotted mini island, middle-sized islands and very large islands.

Another island with house in the St. Lawrence

Some of the islands were just tiny, even smaller than the one above, yet they had homes built on them and docks.  On the main land there were docks all along the road.  I was wondering how the real estate agents showed one of these many islands:  Speed boat and helicopter?

Looking east along the St. Lawrence River

What do you think, shall my hubby and I renew or wedding vows at Boldt Castle for our 10th in 2015? It can’t be anymore expensive than Biltmore  http://www.biltmore.com/  Of course there is the matter of water to cross.

Yes, those are storm clouds.  I am heading into them rather than running away.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in CANADA, Ontario and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment